Posted by: okathleen | May 5, 2009

Rain

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8JmH4HPG1KQ

It’s raining, for a change. I’ve just posted my booking form to reserve a cottage in Wales for August.

This follows newspaper headlines proclaiming a BBQSUMMEROFSUN. 

images

There’s a robin bravely chortling pretending it isn’t happening, which is what we’ll be doing on August Bank Holiday Monday, huddled around a windbreak on a pebbly beach with chilblains and blue lips. I said, never again, but what’s the alternative? 

All or nothing.

It can’t be all, because to take 5 seasoned travellers somewhere to suit all tastes is, well, firstly impossible, because my idea of holiday is very different to everyone else’s, and secondly, it would cost over £50,000. 

That might be a slight exaggeration. Maybe £45,000. 

There is no in between. I’ve looked. For ages, looking at holidays and then, worst mistake ever, checking them out on Tripadvisor. I’m surprised holidays abroad haven’t become extinct since the birth of Tripadvisor. 

Hence Wales

Responses

  1. You’ll have a great time in Wales. There are some great beaches and amazing scenery. Where are you going?

  2. I gave up on the UK after last summer’s wash out and have opted for Tuscany. I reckon I only have one more summer with my eldest before she wont want to go on holiday with me again.

  3. Brucehood. You are very posh. TUSCANY!!

    Have a great time! By the way-have you tried Capri? Sensational island…


Leave a Reply

Categories

